The American Eye Study Club

The American Eye Study Club was established in 1956 by a group of ophthalmologists who would become distinguished figures in the profession. Founders included Thomas Hedges, Thomas Kearns, Howard Naquin, Edward Norton and Albert Ruedemann, Jr. The AESC was created to serve as a forum for young leaders from diverse academic, geographic and practice backgrounds to openly exchange ideas and discuss new developments in a scientific and social setting that included both members and their families.

Active membership is limited to 10 years so the Club will remain fresh and vibrant. Members graduate to "Emeritus" status in their 10th year and continue to contribute to the Club's sense of tradition through involvement in the annual meetings and other activities of the organization.

The Club's bylaws limit the number of Active members to 60 who, along with more than 125 Emeritus members, serve in leadership roles at the state, regional, national and international levels. Many members have served as president of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and/or as directors of the American Board of Ophthalmology. More than 30 have served as chairs of university departments of ophthalmology. Without question, our founders would be proud of the history and course followed by this organization and its members.

AESC members -- Please log-in to the website to enhance your user experience and to access members-only content. 


Highlights & Things of Note

  • Annual Meeting 2017 -- The 60th annual meeting of the AESC will take place at Ritz-Carlton Laguna Niguel in Dana Point, California.  View the photo album from this year's meeting - CLICK HERE 
    And enjoy this video taken from the drone of the group photo!
  • Club Events during the AAO -- Join your fellow AESC members at two events planned during the Academy meeting this November in New Orleans.  Details to come soon..

Club News

  • We were sad to learn of the passing of Dr. Roger Steinert at the age of 66 after a 2½ year battle with glioblastoma.  Roger was inducted into the Club in 1986.  Read more about Roger in Ophthalmology Times - CLICK HERE.

  • Nominations for new members to be considered at the 2017 Summer Business Meeting have been posted to the AESC website.  (Member log-in required).

  • Read archived member news items - HERE