AESC History


The American Eye Study Club was formed in the late 1950's by a group of young ophthalmologists who, themselves, would become distinguished figures in the profession.  Forming the nucleus of the Club were:  Thomas Hedges, Thomas Kearns, Howard Naquin, Edward Norton and Albert Ruedemann, Jr.  It was created to serve as a forum for young leaders in the ophthalmic profession from diverse academic and geographic backgrounds to openly exchange ideas, and to discuss new developments in ophthalmology in a scientific and social setting that included spouses and families.

View the list of our distinguished members who have passed on - CLICK HERE.

Learn about the history and purposes of the American Eye Study Club here!

Al Ruedemann

Here is an interview with Elsie Ruedemann talking about the early years of the AESC, recorded in the summer of 2015 and presented for the first time at the 58th Annual Meeting held at Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island, Michigan by Al and Elsie Ruedemann's daughter, Nancy.



Ed Isbey, Jr.

Ed Isbey, Jr. has rightly been referred to as the "dean" of the American Eye Study Club.  Elected to membership in 1963 (nominated by Al Ruedemann), Dr. Isbey attended his 50th consecutive meeting of the Club in 2015.  His colleagues on the Board of Trustees of the American Eye Study Club Foundation in 2013 named a fund in his honor, the Edward K. Isbey Jr. "HOYA" Society.  This video features an interview with Ed Isbey and his recollections about the formation of the Club, its purposes and the hopes for the future.



Last Updated on Monday, July 18, 2022 10:15 AM