About the American Eye Study Club

The American Eye Study Club was formed in 1956 by a group of leading ophthalmologists to sought to establish a forum for young leaders from diverse academic, geographic and practice backgrounds to openly exchange ideas and discuss new developments in a scientific and social setting that included both members and their families.

View a video in which Dr. Ed Isbey, Jr. reminisces about the founders and what the AESC means to him.

The AESC is a membership group organized as a non-profit corporation.  Its officers which constitute the "executive committee" are:

  • President
  • President-elect
  • Secretary-Treasurer
  • Recording Secretary
  • Immediate Past-president
To view the current officers, CLICK HERE.

Membership includes approximately 60 Active members who, after 10 years of membership, move to Emeritus status.  A member may retain their Emeritus status indefinitely, and may move to "retired" status when they cease the active practice of ophthalmology.

Club History


A list of our current officers.

Presidents & Meetings

AESC Presidents and Annual Meeting Locations.

Lectures & Awards

The American Eye Study Club has established two named lectures and an award in honor of several prominent members.

Officers Only (password)


Last Updated on Friday, November 04, 2022 12:57 PM